Skip to content

Unexpected

January 9, 2012

I started the year with focus.  Determination.  Self-discipline.

I am learning to stay focused, determined and disciplined through the unexpected. 

We have the most wonderful family dog.  Lindsay is a precious chocolate lab with a gentle personality. Only days into the New Year our sweet dog got sick.  We took her to the vet last week only to find that her kidneys were  failing.  It has been nearly a week of IV fluids, visits to the vet and prayers.  The situation has required quite a financial obligation, created a roller-coaster of emotions, all with unknown results.  We have reached our max point, we have done all we can do and now all that is left is to care for her the best we can and wait it out.

Unexpected trials can be a huge distraction from focus, determination and discipline.  Thankfully, I can say that although it was difficult, I have remained steadfast in my New Year’s goals.  The 90 day fitness challenge that I signed up for officially starts on January 16, but I have been keeping up with my pre-contest fitness schedule. 

Challenges and trials might be unexpected to me, but they are never unexpected to the One who holds me and my life in His hands.  That gives me the ability to stay the course even when the course I am on takes an unexpected turn.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

