Skip to content

The Process Continues

November 20, 2011

As we enter into the holiday season, I am so thankful for everything in my life and I realize that another year is coming to an end.   This was the year that my daughter got married, I settled into a new season and I worked toward a healthier lifestyle. 

The journey of learning fitness and physical wellness continues to be a process.  Through this process I have learned much and have enjoyed some rewards for my effort.  I have lost twenty pounds.  

The short-term goal is just simply to maintain my weight loss through the holiday season with consistent exercise.   The long-term goal is to continue the process after the new year and step up the commitment.  Earlier this week I took a big step in that direction.   I signed up for a 90 day fitness challenge with Afterburn Fitness.   The challenge begins on January 16, 2012 and finishes on April 15, 2012.  Results are tracked with body composition measurements using a Bod Pod.  Points are awarded for fat lost, percentage of fat lost and muscle gained. 

This challenge comes at a great time in my life.  My children are grown, so I have the time.  I just received my blood panels back from my doctor showing that my thyroid is finally looking stable and I have laid a great foundation in fitness to build upon.  I am looking forward to the intense accountability this challenge will bring.  Earlier in the year I found a lot of support through an online community called Mamavation.  It is a wonderful group, but I found that with planning my daughter’s wedding I didn’t have the time to stay involved with the group.  I have done well to maintain my fitness alone, but I know I am going to need a lot of support to accomplish my final fitness goals. 

Another huge motivating factor in this challenge is a cash prise for the winner…. $10,000!

That’s right, I will be competing not only to realize my fitness goals once and for all, but for a cash prize as well.  I have a few pre-compitition meetings and measurements to do before the end of the year and then after the new year, it’s on!

The journey of fitness has been a much longer one than I had originally hoped for, but ….

I am confident of this,

that He who began a good work in me will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.

– Philippians 1:6

I know that God is faithful to do His part.  His strength will help me reach the final goal.  Staying committed to this long process of health and fitness is one of the ways I have learned to love myself. 

I really need all the support I can get.  Will you pray for me?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2011 9:25 pm

    Great post. I stopped by to thank you for your beautiful and encouraging words on my blog. It’s been a rough few months, and you can’t know how much of an impact your words have on a hurting heart. May you be deeply blessed.

  2. November 30, 2011 6:05 pm

    Congrats on reaching your goal! You are going to do great at keeping it off! =) I am looking forward to hearing the testimony of His grace working through you to do more than you ever dreamed you could accomplish.

Leave a Reply

