Skip to content

Content

November 7, 2011

Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.”  Hebrews 13:5

Is God really enough?  Yes!  We exclaim.  He is more than enough!  I mean, He’s God right?  Of course, He is all we need.

I believe this to be true from the bottom of my heart.  I daily depend on the promises of God.  His presence sustains me.  He is always with me, never leaves or forsakes me.  He is enough.  And the reality of this truth should bring continual contentment in my life.  I wouldn’t consider myself a lover of money and the majority of the time I am completely content.  But, I must confess that sometimes the desire for things creeps in.  

Recently, we started a little home project.  Our daughter got married earlier in the year, so we turned her old room into a study for me.  It is a luxury I have always wanted.  A place to read, study and write.  I have enjoyed every part of the decorating process, from choosing the paint color (Tiffany blue) to filling the shelves with books and photos, and carefully selecting each piece of furniture or decor.  Like most of us, we are on a budget so the process is slow.  Although the study is not yet complete and I am currently writing this post while sitting on a metal folding chair… I am enjoying my study everyday! 

I used to feel so guilty for desiring any thing that wasn’t a necessity.  There was a time in my life when finances were so difficult for us that even the necessities were hard to come by.  During those years, I learned to enjoy life and to be content without some of the basics.  I think it’s ok to hope for a few things, as long as our true hope and contentment isn’t found in those things.     

Enjoying the process in life is a huge part of contentment.  Enjoy, be at peace, delight, be content right where we are.  God is always with us.  He is enough.  He is all we truly need to find joy, peace and true contentment. 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

