Skip to content

The “P” Word aka: Patience

October 31, 2011

Patience.  Or as I affectionately call it, the “P” word.  

Most of the time, the “P” word and I don’t get along very well.  Although I understand the importance of it, I seem to struggle every time life presents me with the opportunity to have some. 

Patience.

  • A Gift from GodGalatians 5:22 “But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience…”

Choosing patience rarely feels like we are receiving a gift, but that’s exactly what it is.  Patience is a fruit of God’s spirit, one of the many gifts God has blessed us with.  I think true patience can only be found when we are willing to really trust God.  

Trust.  God.

I can wait with peace instead of anxiety because I trust God’s timing.  I can be still even when everything in me wants to rush forward because I trust God’s direction.  I can show patience with myself  instead of pressing for perfection because I trust God is faithful to complete the work He began in me.     

  • A Gift of Love to others: Colossians 3:12 “Therefore, as God’s chosen people, holy and dearly loved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience.”

Patience is a form of love.  One of the most powerful ways we can love people is to be patient with them. 

I think this scripture says it perfectly, “clothe yourselves with… patience.”  Just like I go to my closet every morning and choose my clothes, I have to choose to put patience on.  Patience is a gift that God has given me not only to receive but to give away as well, but it’s a choice.  

Saying yes to patience means I have to say no to myself.  Patience over irritation.  Patience over being offended.  Patience over my way.  Patience over being in control.   When I look at it that way, I see that patience truly is a gift from God.  It’s certainly not from me.   

I surrender my will and trust you Lord that I might practice love through patience with myself and others. 

How well do you get along with the “P” word? 

 

Have you written a post about loving God, loving people or loving yourself, I would love to read it, please link it to Golden Rule Monday here…

 

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

