Skip to content

Grace for the Good Girl – Book Review

October 3, 2011

Grace for the Good Girl  ~  letting go of the try-hard life

By: Emily P. Freeman

 

This book was everything I hoped for and so much more!  I have been reading Emily’s blog, Chatting at the Sky for a couple of years.  Her blog has become a place that I find glimpses of every day beauty.  She captures little life lessons and shares them with her lovely pictures and always finishes each post with her soft touch of truth. 

I say ‘soft touch’ of truth, but don’t underestimate the powerful truth this book brings.  Each chapter reveals truths that uncover the lies we sometimes believe.  Truth that sets us free. 

‘Grace for the Good Girl’ isn’t just for good girls, it’s for anyone who has ever tried to  find their sufficiency in self…

Anyone who has ever attempted to build their identity on acts of service, responsiblity and performance….

Anyone trying to ignore the pain of life and cover it up with a wink and a smile…

It’s for anyone who has ever done these things, but all the while from the bottom of your heart you long  for a truly safe place.  A place of rest, where you can be loved, healed and accepted just as you are.  I think in one area or another we all can relate to what this wonderfully written book has to offer.    

Through personal stories, Emily shares with complete vulnerability not only her own struggles with these things, but she beautifully leads the reader out of hiding and into the freedom of being truly found by our Savior.  Our safe place of grace to discover true life and identity in Christ. 

This is a quote from the book taken from chapter 15 : “Safe, even when it hurts” –  Page 177  (referring to John 12:24)  Emily writes;

“Jesus brings his people to the edge of self-sufficiency and urges us to fall to the ground in surrender.  I hold on to my kernel of wheat because with it I believe I have life.  And that hard, outer shell is like the mask I wear to make life work.  What I don’t know is that when that kernel falls to the ground and it is subjected to the elements of rain and soil and heat and light, that shell will break and burst forth with life.” 

‘Grace for the Good Girl’ is filled with many inspiring treasures of freedom found through grace.  It is a must read

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Josefine Frendin permalink
    October 4, 2011 12:48 am

    Sounds like a book I should read..

  2. October 4, 2011 8:46 pm

    Thank you for this recommendation! Sounds just like where I am right now and would be a helpful read. I LOVE books, so any excuse to get another one makes me happy! 😉 Thank you so much for your words of encouragement the other day on my blog, they meant the world to me.
    ~in Him
    Stephanie

Leave a Reply

