Skip to content

R.E.S.P.E.C.T.

October 2, 2011

I’ve dedicated every Monday to writing on the topic of the Golden Rule as Jesus described the three most important things in Matthew 22:37-40.

Love God.  Love People.  Love Yourself.

Today my thoughts are of the love we are called to extended to others.  I think of the lyrics to the classic song by Aretha Franklin, R.E.S.P.E.C.T.  Just a little respect.  That’s all most of us want from each other.  In general, we don’t venture out into our day looking to be deliberately disrespectful to people.  Yet, whether it is our purposed intention or not, disrespect happens daily.  

It’s my desire to respect all people equally.  To make an honest attempt at this in my life, I’ve found there’s one particular area that I have to keep a close eye on.  This is a place that if I am not careful, I can find myself becoming disrespectful…

Taking up someone else’s offense.  My heart is full with compassion for others.  Most of the time this is a good thing, however when I’ve witnessed a severely painful offense toward someone, I tend to lack any compassion for the offender.  I find it hard at times to see beyond the pain their actions have caused.  I confess, there have been times that I’ve taken up someone else’s offense to the point of  being down right disrespectful to their offender.  

Should we only extend respect to others when we feel their actions deserve our respect?  Does their poor behavior justify my disrespect?  I don’t think so.  When I look at the heart of this type of disrespect, I find it’s really nothing more than judgement and harsh criticism.  

“With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it we curse men, who have been made in God’s likeness.” – James 3:9

“Why do you judge your brother or sister? Or why do you treat your brother or sister with contempt? For we will all stand before God’s judgment seat.” – Romans 14:10

Keeping these scriptures in mind, I hope to be more careful the next time I feel like my disrespect is justified because I have taken up someone else’s offense.  I pray God teaches me with His unconditional love to treat all people with the respect they deserve, just simply because they are “made in God’s likeness”.   

Are there certain times or situations that make it more difficult for you to be respectful to others?

If you would like to join me with Golden Rule Monday – Link up any post that you have written about loving God and or loving people as we do ourselves…

 

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Matthew Barnett permalink
    October 3, 2011 10:01 am

    This is such a great post. It’s amazing how even at my best I fall short of respecting everyone. It’s something that we need to be so intentional about. This is very good.

  2. October 5, 2011 1:10 pm

    Danise – The verse from James 3:9 is so very good. With our tongue we praise our beloved Lord and Father, and with it we curse men who have been made in his likeness . . . I have taken this to mean that when we curse men, we curse him. Ouch! “. . . to treat all people with the respect they deserve, just simply because they are made in God’s likeness” . . . great wisdom. Goes against the human grain. True Christlikeness.

Leave a Reply

