Skip to content

Hands Up. Lean Back.

September 19, 2011

I love roller-coasters.

Six Flags Magic Mountain is only a short fifteen minutes from my house… it’s one of my most favorite places to go.

I like being one of the first people lined up waiting for the park to open. 

The gates open, I race in and make a quick cut to the right and head straight for my favorite ride. 

GOLIATH! 

3 minutes of thrilling excitement!  Top speed of 85 MPH and a  G Force of 4.5 G’s…. but my absolute favorite part is the drop… 255 feet straight down into an underground tunnel! 

As I reach the top, just before the drop, I let go, put my arms up, lean back and enjoy the ride. 

That’s the way I choose to ride.  However, they provide a bar in front of you to hold on to if you would rather white knuckle your way through… Holding on tightly until it’s over.

Sometimes  in life that’s what I do the minute an unexpected drop comes around… instead of surrendering it all into the hands of God, my hands can be found firming glued to the steering wheel of my life, white knuckles and all.   

Trying to find peace and joy in the midst of my control is nearly impossible.  But, the minute I treat life challenges the way I ride roller-coasters, hands up in surrender and trust to God… peace that surpasses my understanding floods my soul.  Then, I’m able to enjoy the ride of life.   

 

Hebrews 10:23

Let us hold tightly without wavering to the hope we say we have,

for God can be trusted to keep his promise.

 

 This scripture tells us to hold on tightly – but its the hope of God we hold on to, not fear and control.

I am learning more and more that to hold on to hope I need to let go.  Let it be said of me that when twists and turns of life come my way I can be found with hands raised, leaning back, trusting in my God the one who always keeps His promises. 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2011 6:09 am

    You paint a great word picture! I am a big fat chicken when it comes to rollercoasters but I have learned rather late in life that by holding on tight I still CANNOT control anything. Yielding my will and my strength to my Heavenly Father is the best and wisest thing I can do. Thanks for this post.

  2. September 24, 2011 5:16 pm

    You, my friend, are a kindred spirit! haha I love roller-coasters. I’m a throw my hands up kind of girl too, but not in my life. I hold on tight because I’m a little bit of a control freak. How freeing would it be to treat my life the way I do with roller-coasters! Thank you so much, Danise!

Leave a Reply

