Skip to content

Pleasing

August 26, 2011

May the words fo my mouth

and the meditation of my heart

be pleasing in your sight

 O Lord my rock and my redeemer.

~Psalm 19:14

 

As I ponder this beautiful prayer found in Psalms it becomes my own heart’s cry to God…

I am filled with conviction to more diligently guard my words.

But, beyond what I say… God sees to the meditation of my heart. 

Meditation.  What am I thinking long and hard about? 

Are my thoughts pleasing to Him? 

My thoughts.

Sometimes they follow the pleasing pattern of trusting God, hoping in God and the truth of His promises. 

Other times my thoughts are a tangled mess because of my own fears, stress or even anger.  It’s for those moments when the meditation of my heart has gone astray that Jesus came. 

Jesus.

Always pleasing.  Always perfect.  He came for me.

He came to cover my thoughts and words with His perfection.  To create a new heart in me every day.  Sometimes many times every day.

Create in me a clean heart, O God,

and renew a right, persevering, and steadfast spirit within me.

~Psalm 51:10

 

As I surrender my thoughts and words to Him, I am so grateful to find unlimited opportunities for a clean heart and steadfast spirit.

Although I am not perfectly pleasing to God in the words of my mouth or the meditation of my heart. 

Jesus is. 

My surrender to Jesus is pleasing to the Lord.

 

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2011 2:51 pm

    So true and beautifully written. I often find myself with wandering thoughts, fear and anxiety-filled. It is at those times that I remind myself of this verse and steer myself back in His direction. Thanks for this post!

  2. August 27, 2011 9:06 am

    My husband prays that prayer every Sunday morning before he preaches. It’s a great way to focus us all as we prepare to hear what God wants to say to us all.

Leave a Reply

