Skip to content

The Door Opens and Closes

August 5, 2011

Today I am linking up with 5 Minute Fridays with Gypsy Mama.  We write raw and unedited for 5 minutes about a topic.

Whole…

Many years ago I gave my Tuesdays to God… I volunteer as a mentor and pastor women at the Los Angeles Dream Center.  All day long the door opens and closes, one right after the other needing to find wholeness…

The door opens, she walks in and her heart is broken.  Someone who should have been a trusted person in her childhood betrayed that trust in ways our minds can not image.  The void in her heart is so much bigger than I can help fill with my compassion and words.  Jesus is there.  His promises bring hope.  He leads her to extend forgiveness and she is made whole.  I feel privileged to participate in the process. 

The door closes and opens again.  She walks in and her tear filled eyes reveal the shame of her actions are heavy on her heart.  She feels distant from God. She has done the unthinkable. I hold her and encourage her but my words aren’t enough.  Jesus is there.  His blood covers her sin.  Cleanses her conscience and she begins to feel whole once again.

The door closes and opens again and again…. and every time Jesus is there to lead them all to His wholeness.

This writing on Whole is linked with 5 Minute Fridays

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2011 1:31 pm

    Wow! I love that! What an amazing opportunity!

    I spent a week volunteering at the Dream Center about 10+ as a part of a missions trip from ORU.

    I love the way you describe the process having been in full time ministry myself for 10 years. Just beautiful and powerful!

  2. August 5, 2011 3:58 pm

    What a great way to spend your Tuesdays.

  3. August 6, 2011 1:33 am

    It always is a great privledge to be a little bit of the hands and feet of Jesus to another person. I always thing it is so amazing that God chooses to use us. . . Tuesday and any other day of the week. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Fondly,
    Glenda

  4. Lori permalink
    August 24, 2011 12:37 pm

    I’m so thankful for the opportunity to meet with you weekly and experience the healing and unconditional love of God. You are a gift in my life!

Leave a Reply

