Skip to content

God’s Daughter

August 3, 2011

I remember where I was the first time I accepted the love God has for me as a father.  It was October 2000.  For years before that I knew the truth that God is my father but I can honestly say that I didn’t take that truth in and really believe it for myself personally until that morning in October 2000.  It was a women’s retreat.  I was sitting in the back of a large auditorium and the speaker began to talk about her dad.  She spoke of the wonderful man of God he was.  She continued on to explain that during some of the most difficult times in life her dad would always be there to share Biblical words of encouragement and wisdom.  Throughout her life  he always had words of hope to shower her with.  She had countless memories of her earthly father washing her with the words of God. 

I cried.  They were not tears of happiness and joy.  I felt an overwhelming feeling of inadequacy.  With tears literally streaming down my face I truly felt like a spiritual orphan.  I wasn’t raised in a Christian home. My parents divorced when I was nine years old.  Although I love my earthly father he has never had words of Biblical encouragement for me.  Never in all my memories, could I count on him to give me any spiritual wisdom or guidance.  I didn’t have the kind of father that this speaker had.  I felt hopeless like God could never really use me. 

The words of the speaker began to completely fade to silence in my mind as I was consumed with despair.  God comforted me.  He whispered quietly to my heart.  “You are not a spiritual orphan.  I take you as my own.  You are my daughter.”  God began to minister to me personally just like the speaker described her earthly father did with her.  God washed my insecure heart with his encouraging and comforting words.  I was still crying but the tears had turned from discouragement to hope.  I found my identity in God through Christ Jesus.  I really am God’s daughter. 

I literally cried for three days following that retreat at the revelation of my new-found identity. I immediately bought myself a new Bible and had it personalized with God’s Daughter on the cover (the one shown in the picture).    I searched the scriptures to memorize verses to help me hold on to this truth.  My favorite…

1 John 3:1

How great is the love the Father has lavished on us, that we should be called children of God!

And that is what we are! 

Oh how He loves us.  Oh how He loves me personally.  And oh how His love lavished on us gives us the confident identity we need to live this life with the constant revelation that we are truly loved.  We can love because He first loved us. 

 

This post is linked with A Holy Experience

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Betty Jean permalink
    August 3, 2011 10:08 am

    Thank You Danise. We all need to be reminded now and again just how precious we are to Abba Father and draw from His love for us.

  2. merrycooking permalink
    August 3, 2011 1:15 pm

    Beautiful post Danise! I love being reminded of being God’s daughter. I don’t really remember a time that I didn’t feel I wasn’t but there was a special Dad moment in my life. When I was 36 ~ 20 years ago ~ I received a card from my dad. He wrote, “I have cherished, saved and savored every Father’s Day card you have written. I love you.” It was the first time her ever said I love you. Sometimes dads are quiet for what seems a zillion years ~ we are so grateful to have our Heavenly Father who daily reminds us of His love for us.

Leave a Reply

