Skip to content

Thankfulness Redefined

June 17, 2011

I walk into my kitchen like any other morning.  I start my day with a colorful cup of tea.  (just the way I like it… I love color) 

As I wait for the water for my tea to heat up I whisper, “Thank you Jesus.”  My mind is thinking of her. 

She is a single mom of three beautiful girls.  She is brave, strong and tender all at the same time.  She has traveled through violence and fear to a place of safety. 

Her safe place is currently a small room at the Dream Center where she and her girls are rebuilding their lives.  They took her in.  Gave her shelter and hope. 

I count it a privilege to call her friend.  One step at a time she presses on to take hold of the hope in her heart and never allows her past to dictate her future.

With no formal education, she studies and receives her GED.  She becomes a college student with a dream of stability for her family in her heart.  She studies late into the night in that small room while her children sleep.  Not only studying for college classes but intensively preparing for an interview with the INS.  She passes the test and receives her citizenship to a country she loves.  Finally, home can really feel like home.  

When we talk, she glows with thanksgiving to God for His goodness to her.  She tells me about her dreams for the future.  She is so thankful for her little room at the Dream Center  and she talks about having her own apartment, a home of her own to raise her girls in. 

She longs for the day that she will have her own place.  Especially a kitchen.  She misses cooking.  She tells me that someday… when God gives her a kitchen, she will thank him every day for her kitchen.

As I wait for the water for my tea to heat up I whisper, “Thank you Jesus… thank you for my kitchen.

 

This Post is Linked to ~

www.aholyexperience.com

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2011 6:41 am

    Thank you so much for reminding me to be thankful today!

  2. June 20, 2011 4:11 am

    What a blessing to be reminded that we have so much to thankful for. I tend to hurry out of the kitchen if at all possible….but this post will make me pause and thank God that I have a kitchen and should praise Him every day for it. Thanks for posting this!

  3. June 22, 2011 10:02 am

    Love the colors! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Sunday Weekly Favorites {6/26/11} | Christian Women Friends

Leave a Reply

