Skip to content

God’s Road Map

June 8, 2011

Isaiah 30:21

Whether you turn to the right or to the left your ears will hear a voice behind you saying this is the way, walk in it.

We come to a crossroad in life and a decision needs to be made.  Which direction should I go?  When we depend on God for direction we have the assurance of knowing that He has a perfect road map for our life.  We don’t have to doubt or fear which way to go.  We only need to be willing to make the first steps. “Whether we turn to the right or the left” actually isn’t important.  The point is to make a choice.  We need to move forward either to the right or the left rather than to remain stagnant in the fear of making a wrong choice.   It is impossible to steer an anchored ship, but once the ship takes the first steps to leave the port, direction can be given. 

God doesn’t say in this scripture that if we choose to go in a certain direction that everything will be perfect with that initial decision.  The promise He does give us is that once we have taken the first steps in faith, we will hear Him telling us which way to go from there.  This gives us confidence to move forward in life boldly; knowing that God’s road map for our life is always available to us.  This takes all the fear out of making a mistake.  Even if we do make a mistake, God’s promise to us is that He is right there to get us back on track.  The GPS system in my car reminds of me of that.  It gives me detailed instructions to a desired destination.  If I make a wrong turn, the screen immediately changes and begins to re-route me to get me on the right road again.  It might take me a little longer to get there when I make a wrong turn, but the GPS gets me to my destination.  God is the perfect GPS for our life.

Although God has the perfect road map for my life, it’s the times He had re-route me that have been opportunities to develop my character. And He always uses those character building opportunities to equip me for where He is taking me. 

Are you at a crossroad?  Do you need direction?  Take a few steps in faith and then listen for God’s personal road map instructions for you.  Enjoy taking those first few steps with confident faith in God, without fear. 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2011 4:46 pm

    I love this! It’s all too easy to get stuck in indecision which I think really is a trap from the tormentor of our souls. Stepping forward in faith can be scary, but our God is so much bigger than our biggest fears. You go, girl!

  2. June 10, 2011 9:05 pm

    Thanks so much for the encouragement!

  3. June 11, 2011 5:24 am

    Thank you for the timely post, very encouraging

Leave a Reply

