Skip to content

Book Review ~ The Cause Within You

February 1, 2011

The Cause Within You

Finding the One Great Thing

You were Created to Do in this World

by Matthew Barnett  with George Barna

Inspirational from cover to cover.  This book is a must read.  Matthew Barnett, cofounder (with his father, Pastor Tommy Barnett) of the Dream Center in Los Angeles pours out page after page of heart warming and captivating stories.  Each of them telling the testimony of ordinary people doing extraordinary things because they are devoted to the great cause God has custom designed just for them.  This book is filled with motivating quotes that are backed up with real life situations and results. 

“It doesn’t take a person with unusual ability to change the world. 

All it takes is a heart that cares, a mind that’s determined, a spirit that’s willing,

 a cause that matters, and a person to help.”  

This quote was taken from page 38.  Matthew Barnett explains that he came to Los Angeles at the age of twenty to pastor a church.  After preaching his heart out, he watched the church go from thirty-nine people to literally zero.  Late at night, feeling discouraged and unsure of his own ability to accomplish what God had called him to do, he felt God lead him to Echo Park.  He sat and witnessed the urban crime scene around him.  Police arresting criminals, drunks wandering the streets, helicopter search lights and homeless people pushing their shopping carts.  God impressed clearly upon his heart, “You build the people, I will build the church.  Serve these people.  If you reach the people nobody wants, I’ll send you the people that everybody wants.”  The excitement of a great cause welled up within him as he looked around and realized this was his congregation, they just didn’t know it yet. 

The great cause of reaching and serving people no matter what their circumstances was born in the heart of a young pastor during a moment of true discouragement and today the Dream Center is the home of hundreds of outreach ministries.  Literally thousands of people are reached every week through this amazing ministry.

On the inside cover of the book there is a quote, ‘Nearly half of all adults say they are still seeking the meaning and ultimate purpose of their life.’   If you have ever wondered what your great cause in life is, this book will be a great tool to assist you in discovering it.  Each chapter includes an outlined overview of what was learned as well as a complete discussion guide section at the back of the book.

On a personal note.  Matthew Barnett has been my pastor for almost ten years.  Our family has been making a 40 mile commute several times a week to serve under Pastor Matthew’s vision.  As I read the stories told in this book, I realized that I personally knew the people in the story.  I have seen all the amazing miracles of God with my own eyes.  After tearfully reading each page my heart was filled with even more love for my church, my pastor and the great cause of living to serve others.  I didn’t know it was possible to find more love for a cause that I have already been so passionate about for almost a decade of my life… but reading this book will truly tap into love you didn’t even know was in your heart.

I am giving away a Free copy of The Cause Within You.  To enter just leave a comment.  A winner will be randomly selected next week! 

CONGRATULATIONS TO CARLOTTA LEVY!  SHE WON A FREE COPY OF THE BOOK!

 

Linked to We Are THAT Family

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2011 7:45 am

    Hi Danise, I visited The Dream Center last Thursday! I looked for you….anyway, what a wonderful ministry and church. I look forward to reading the book! Love, Carlotta

  2. Frank Palelei permalink
    February 1, 2011 8:58 pm

    LOVE LOVE LOVE this cause and the Dream Center! Such an amazing church and movement to be serving under. Let’s change the world one cause at a time!

  3. February 5, 2011 5:14 am

    You had me at the traveling 40 miles to go to a church. I can’t imagine and I think it is so awesome! I have never heard of the dream center and the book sounds amazing. I would love to win it and if I don’t , guess what? I am buying it!!! Thanks for introducing me to something new. I will be a new follower!

  4. Rose Kirk permalink
    February 5, 2011 7:01 pm

    From the moment I heard about this new book, I knew I should read it. This sounds so much like what I have been telling others. He gave us each a unique gift, and once we discover what that is, it will not even surprise us, because we have been good at it all along. I hope this stirs the passion in each of us to not stop til we find our cause. be blessed in the Lord. Thanks

  5. February 9, 2011 7:27 am

    Good morning Danise!
    You have blossomed so much as a woman, mentor, and Christ-follower on your journey at the Dream Center…where you found your cause within. And now, you are such an effective book reviewer too, that I am looking forward to reading ‘The Cause Within You’. I am proud of you…yesterday, today, tomorrow, and always. Love you, Mom

  6. Gwen permalink
    February 20, 2011 12:46 pm

    Hi Danise,

    Exceptional Kudos for the much needed and self-less work you are doing. Every single person has a role in building the Kingdom on earth and the best way to do this, is by touching, healing, and nurturing broken lives. Jesus connected with the people then He was able to heal them. Keep up the good work.

    Love & Prayers,

    Gwen (a fellow soldier on the battlefield)

  7. Yolanda permalink
    March 2, 2011 12:27 pm

    This book I know is the reason I stumbled upon this blog page tonight. I will surely get it soon and thanks a big deal for sharing dear.

  8. Marce gennace permalink
    April 3, 2011 7:23 pm

    My husband and I are at a crossroads with god wanting to give up lifeless careers we have and serve god more by loving our kids, the poor and the oppressed . I would love more insight by this book .

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Book Review and Giveaway ~ The Cause Within You « DaniseDelights.com -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

