Skip to content

Mamavation Monday ~ What is Wellness

January 30, 2011

This week in addition to a weekly up date,  Mamavation and Earth Footwear gave us a question to answer on our blog posts. 

What does wellness mean to you?

My first thought is that wellness is so much more than physical fitness.  A person can be completely physically fit and not be well  emotionally, spiritually or have actual health in their body.  For that reason I think wellness requires balance. 

As a part of my committment to further my education in healthy living I have been studying the AFAA (Aerobic and Fitness Association of America) text-book for Personal Fitness Training.  The first chapter of the book defines wellness as a multidimensional concept incorporating six dimensions.

The Six Dimensions of Wellness according to the AAFA text-book, Personal Fitness Training: Theory and Practice 

  1. Emotional
  2. Social
  3. Intellectual
  4. Spiritual
  5. Physical
  6. Occupational

The perspective is that optimal well-being  and ‘zest for life’ comes when all these aspects are being developed and integrated.     

Being physically fit  isn’t completely fulfilling without spiritual and emotional peace and visa versa.

Balance. 

Personal wellness is a healthy balance of all the important aspects of our life.

Now, for the Body Bugg up date.  I am loving my Body Bugg.  It has exceeded my expectations.  I knew it would help me stay on top of my activity and the calories I burned.  The accountability that I didn’t expect to get was with my nutrition.  The program makes food journaling so easy.  It does all the calculating for me; not only the calories but the nutritional value of the food I am eating.  So, at the end of the day the program automatically gives me a pie chart and bar chart of the percentage of carbs, protein, fat, fiber, saturated fat that I ate for that day.  It gives me weekly reports too! 

The nutritional break down really explained a lot to me this week because although my overall calorie intake was lower than the calories I burned; the nutritional value of my food overall was higher in fat then expected for the week.  Which is probably why I maintained my weight this week instead of lost.  But, I am hopeful because this is a process and I am learning.  Overall, I feel balanced.  It is wellness I am seeking not only weight loss.

This week our Mamavation sponsor is Earth Footwear!  Awesome products!  I love my Earth Footwear boots.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2011 8:51 pm

    I am going to have to check out AFAA. I have been trying to figure out where to get certified and just reach for more knowledge in general. Have a great week!

  2. January 31, 2011 9:03 am

    Ohhh…Body Bugg sounds like something worth looking into! Thanks for posting.

  3. January 31, 2011 9:21 am

    Thanks for posting more on the Body Bug. Sounds like a fabulous little tool. I think I would learn a lot from a nutritional breakdown of my intake. I bet it has some sneaky stuff in there I don’t realize. If you feel good and are still going strong, that sounds like a win in my book. I hope you have another great week!

  4. January 31, 2011 10:20 am

    You should totally have at some point a big review on body bug. It seems like a great thing to have. Hope you have a great week!

  5. January 31, 2011 10:21 am

    I definitely agree that having all 6 dimensions are needed for wellness. If we have a balance of all we’re in a happier state.

    Th Body Bugg sounds interesting.

  6. January 31, 2011 11:38 am

    It is nice to read that you are feeling balanced. That is an empowering feeling. Have a wonderful week.

  7. January 31, 2011 11:39 am

    And yay… good luck as you continue to study ahead of your certification exam.

Leave a Reply

