Skip to content

Mamavation Monday ~ Creating New Standards

January 17, 2011

I read a fitness fact from the ACSM (American College of Sports Medicine) yesterday that has set a new standard for me in my weight loss process.  The ACSM recommends a minimum of 300 minutes of exercise a week to promote weight loss.  This week I clocked 215 minutes of work out time.  A respectable number for maintaining a healthy and fit lifestyle… but definitely below the mark for weight loss.  The new standard has been set, it will be my goal every week until I reach my goal weight to do a minimum, key word – minimum of 300 minutes per week of exercise.  It is doable.  In fact, at times during my weight loss journey I have actually reached well above that standard.  The point is to make it a weekly standard. 

This last week’s fitness schedule included a fun 3 mile hike in the mountains with my hubby, weights, dvds, elliptical, rowing, treadmill, cycle and kettle bell work outs.  This week the plan is a lot more of the same.  Although the scale didn’t more for me this week, I did purchase a smaller size pair of jeans that fit… that felt good.  It was evidence that my body is responding and making positive changes.

Congratulations to the new Mamavation Moms @christlikemommy & @beeacutie2 and the Los Angeles #Mamavation moms: @katecoleman77 & @ninemoremonths – I am so happy and excited for all of you.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2011 5:27 am

    300 minutes… hmmm I wonder how subjective that is to workout intensity? Good luck getting your minutes in. I suppose keep doing delicious stuff like hiking in the mountains with your hubby and it won’t seem like hard work.

  2. January 18, 2011 9:44 am

    Wow, 300 minutes?! I could not do that – at least not yet. Maybe not anytime soon even. But eventually I supposed. Thats about 12.5 hours a week. And so maybe 2 hours a day or so. Not bad.

    Keep up the good work. I look forward to reading more.

    Oh, I am Jennifer – a new pledge 🙂

Leave a Reply

