Skip to content

Mamavation Monday ~ Healthy Living through the Holidays

December 5, 2010

Thanksgiving’s yummy goodies are now over, the Christmas decorations are up and since my last fitness update I have been able to maintain my weight thus far.  I enjoyed the holiday dishes but I made sure to keep up on my exercise and get right back on a healthy eating plan. 

My exercise schedule for this week was a little lower impact because I have been fighting a cold recently… but it was enough to help me maintain, rather than gain during this season.

Monday:   (4) dvd work outs – Shred it, Shred with kettle bell, Dance with Me, and Gorgeous Core

Tuesday: 45 minutes elliptical and sauna

Wednesday:  (3) dvd work outs –  Shred it, Shred with kettle bell, Dance with Me

Thursday:  45 minutes elliptical

Friday:  60 minutes elliptical and sauna

Saturday: 45 minutes combination of cardio and strength training

I like having the option of going to the gym and working out at home with the dvds.  Two weeks ago Billy Blanks Jr was a guest on Mamavation TV.  I ordered his ‘Dance with Me – Cardio’ dvd.  It’s a lot of fun.  I am not a natural-born dancer… but I have fun with it.  Jillian Michaels continues to kick my bottom, especially with the kettle bell  work out!  Suzanne Bowen does great core strengthening.

I am considering the p90x challenge… but it is still in the ‘thinking about it’ stage.

My healthy living goals for this week are to break through the maintaining mode and start losing weight again, as I press closer and closer to a healthy weight. 

This week’s Mamavation sponsor is Earth Footwear and our Mamavation Sista of the week is Megan @mnmspecial 

14 Comments leave one →
  1. December 5, 2010 6:10 pm

    You’re doing so well! Keep this up and the holidays will be a breeze for you!

  2. December 5, 2010 6:22 pm

    Your cardio is hard-core! I’m impressed! Good job staying active in spite of being under the weather. That’s not easy, but I know it helps you get better faster. Have a great week!

  3. December 5, 2010 6:54 pm

    You are doing so great! Proud of you 🙂

  4. December 5, 2010 7:42 pm

    Awesome! You’re kicking butt with the exercise!
    I hope you break through as well!!

    Sorry you’ve been sick.

  5. December 5, 2010 7:52 pm

    I love the dance DVD. I have not rhythm but who cares when you’re having fun right?! Shake, shake shake….shake, shake, shake….Shake your Bootay!

  6. December 5, 2010 8:04 pm

    Wow…when I read you were taking it easy…I thought it would be less packed with things…I guess I need to follow you and step up my fitness workouts.
    Good luck moving your goals up from maintain to weight loss this week.

  7. December 5, 2010 8:20 pm

    I kind of want to try the Billy Blanks, Jr DVD. I might have to add that to my Christmas wishlist 🙂
    You are totally rocking the workouts!! Great job!
    I hope you have a great week.

  8. December 5, 2010 10:58 pm

    Great job with the workout. Are you sure this was low impact? I am sticking with the Shred for now. It is great!

  9. December 6, 2010 1:17 am

    You are a busy lady! That schedule kicks major behind. I am so impressed with your plan and determination. Can’t wait to hear how it all went next week. Keep it up.

  10. December 6, 2010 8:21 am

    Great job!! You are so inspiring with all that you accompish!! HUGS

    I am going to ‘attempt’ p90x in January… you should totally do it! I figure even if I only do half the workouts… it is still a much better workout than doing nothing at all. LOL (Honestly, I am jsut scared – those infomercials are intense and look hard!)

    Wouldn’t it be so easy if we could sit on our couch, eating chips (or cookies) … and our body would magically transform just by WATCHING those amazing workouts. LOL

    Have a great day!

  11. December 8, 2010 4:49 pm

    I like videos but the only issue with those vs a class is that with those im so likely and tempted to stop it half way through and not go back vs with a clas or working out away from home i know i have to finish before i go home so i get in the full workout

    have an awesome week keep up the great work

  12. December 9, 2010 1:42 pm

    You are doing awesome!!! My husband and I did P90X last year. We’d stop when we got sick or when the schedule got crazy, so it was more like P120X with working out 90 days – ha ha. We really did like it.

Trackbacks

  1. Mamavation Monday ~ Healthy Living through the Holidays … | Healthy Living Creating Wealth
  2. Mamavation Monday ~ Healthy Living through the Holidays … | Importance of Health

Leave a Reply

