Skip to content

Becoming a Woman of Freedom ~ From Worry to Peace

November 3, 2010

Here are some of my notes from our Bible Study series by Cynthia Heald. 

Isaiah 35:3-4 

Strengthen the feeble hands, steady the knees that give way; say to those with fearful hearts, “Be strong, do not fear; your God will come, he will come with vengeance; with divine retribution he will come to save you.”

Isaiah 41:10 

So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

  • “feeble hands, knees that give way, fearful heart”… So often that describes me.  That is why these scriptures are such an incredible encouragement to me.  God is saying, “I know you get fearful.  I know the worry and stress of life is sometimes too heavy for you to carry by yourself… I will strengthen you, I will be your stability, I will come and save you.” says the Lord. 
  • We are not alone in our fear, worry and stress.  There is a whole world of people looking, sometimes desperately for relief from the burden.  However, the peace we are searching for can only be found when we look beyond our humanity to a source of peace that surpasses our understanding – God. 

Matthew 6:25-34 

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes?  Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?  Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?

“And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith?  So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

  • Our perfect and amazing example in life… Jesus.  His words travel to the depth of our heart and soul encouraging and challenging at the same time.  “Do not worry about the cares our your life.”  Sounds so easy doesn’t it.  So why do I still struggle with worry and fear?  I think one of the reasons is because of  lies I have believed.  Sometimes I actually feel like I am being irresponsible if I don’t worry about things.  I know that sounds ridiculous.  However, last night at our Bible Study many other women admitting to feeling that same way.  Like some how it is being slothful not to worry about things.  The key I have found is to know my part and be willing to do my part.  Next, trust God to do His part.  And last, deal with the lies in my head.  I don’t know about you but when I let fear and worry really take hold of me – my mind is very creative.  It takes the seed of fear and worry and runs with it; next thing you know I have conjured up all kinds of scenarios  that haven’t even happened.  Jesus says,’Who can add a day to their life because of worry.”  “Don’t worry about tomorrow (things that haven’t happened yet) each day has enough trouble of its own.”  We have to learn to deal with today – Do our part, Trust God and quiet the lies in our mind.  Jesus is very clear… Worry is not ‘our part’.  There might be tangible things that we can do in our circumstances but once we have done that we need to trust in God to keep His promises (which He always does) and choose to believe God’s truth instead of the creative lies flying around in our mind.
  • Jesus reminds us, ‘Your heavenly Father knows that you need them (provision, money, food, shelter ect.)’  It hasn’t slipped God’s mind that you have real life needs and He says He is prepared to ‘add all these things to you’ – We need to switch our focus from the ‘things’ we are worried about to God and His kingdom. 

Psalm 55:22 

Cast your cares on the LORD and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous be shaken.

1 Peter 5:6-7 

Humble yourselves, therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time.  Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.

  • The best way to trust God with our worry and fear is to give it to Him.  Take Him at His word.  “Cast all your anxiety on Him because He care for you.”

John 14:27 

Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

  • In exchange for worry, stress and fear we can have Peace.  Not the kind of peace that comes from humanity but the type of peace that can not even be fully explained and understood.  Peace that comes from the divine hand of a compassionate and loving God and touches our soul.  It is only then can we stand in the midst of the storms of life and truly say… It is well with my soul. 
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

