Skip to content

Mamavation Monday ~ Little by Little

October 17, 2010

I LOST 1 POUND THIS WEEK

My weight loss goal for this week was 2 pounds… but I will take the 1 pound loss.  A loss is a loss.  This puts me 29 pounds away from my overall goal – healthy BMI. 

Several things helped me lose weight rather than maintain this week.  I was active.  The Mamavation Movement Challenge requires a minimum of 100 minutes of sweat induced cardio.  I did lots of cardio (320 minutes worth) – elliptical, treadmill, bike, stairs and additionally – tons of jumping jacks!  Last Monday on Mamavation TV, Leah gave us a challenge to do 3 sets of 50 jumping jacks everyday.  Most days I was able to get in 6 sets of 50 (300 jumping jacks) plus my cardio work outs.  It has been a great challenge for me and I plan to continue doing the jumping jacks everyday. 

I made much better food choices this week and continued drinking a minimum of 90 oz of water a day. 

A New Mind Set  to Help me Reach my Healthy Living Goals ~

I love working out.  I enjoy challenging myself and pushing my physical limits.  That hasn’t been too much of a struggle for me.  BUT… sometimes it’s not easy to down 90 oz of water in a day or keep making good food choices.  Sometimes I don’t want to eat a healthy high fiber meal and I am tempted to give in.  I gave this a lot of thought this week. 

I reminded myself that my body is still not a healthy BMI – that means my health is at risk.  I started realizing that  every healthy choice I make for my body is like medicine for a sick person trying to get well.  I know that might not sound like very encouraging motivation but it really helped me.  Even though I might not like the prescription sometimes; if I desire to get well I have to take my medicine.  And right now my ‘prescription’ is 90 -100 oz of water every day.  Healthy high fiber low-calorie meals instead of high calorie junk food.  And tons of exercise.  Truthfully, I am not certain how long this motivational outlook will inspire me, but it definitely helped me out this week.

This week the goal is more of the same and I will bring back some strength training in my work outs. I haven’t forgotten the mama guns challenge!  Little by little I want to see the scale moving in the right direction towards healthy BMI!

As always I am so thankful for my friends at Mamavation.  Your encouragement and accountability is helping me more than words can express.

Congratulations to Angela – She is the Mamavation Sista of the week!

Mamavation Twitter party launching the 6th campaign of Mamavation on October 18th from 5pm to 7pm PST (Mountain Standard Time: 6pm to 8pm, Central Standard Time: 7pm to 9pm, OR Eastern Standard Time: 8pm to 10pm).  Good luck to all the moms campaigning to be the next Mamavation Mom! 

 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2010 3:09 am

    That is some AMAZING cardio! And I, too, love the jumping jacks challenge. Though I admit I come on strong in the morning and then forget about it throughout the day. But you just made me recommit. Every little bit helps, and I? Need every little bit. Lol.

    Have a great week!

  2. gretablau permalink
    October 18, 2010 5:21 am

    Yep!! a pound is awesome!! great work! you tweaked what you were doing and you were successful!!! YAY!! Food choices are key, i’ve found. Like Pete Cohen says, you can’t out-train a bad diet. Totally true, unless you’re Michael Phelps! : ) Good luck this week with your goals!!

  3. October 18, 2010 3:46 pm

    Dang! That is a ton of cardio minutes – you go, girl!! A 1 lb loss is outstanding and HEALTHY, so keep up the great work. Keep that goal of a healthy BMI in mind and it will keep you motivated! So proud of you!

  4. October 19, 2010 8:22 am

    You are doing a great thing in being pragmatic about why you want to lose weight and get healthier. Good luck this week. Keep up that awesome cardio.

  5. October 19, 2010 11:55 am

    Insert happy dance here!!!!! Whoot. Good luck this coming week.

  6. October 20, 2010 10:42 am

    HOW AMAZING ARE YOU?! I completely appreciate your support with the jumping jacks… there were days that I wouldn’t be feeling it and I would see your tweet and though – heck yeah I can! What a great way to show support for us! slow and steady wins the race my dear!! Congrats on the loss!

  7. October 20, 2010 11:00 am

    WOW you did awesome congrats on doing so well with the movement challenge if it were a race you’d be in 1st place good luck with your goals this week

Leave a Reply

