Skip to content

Mamavation Monday ~ The Engagement

October 4, 2010

First, I have to share my most recent exciting news, my daughter Katie got engaged last night!  We are so excited for her.  She and her fiance work at in ministry at the LA Dream Center.  It is an inner city outreach ministry providing food, clothes, shelter and most importantly hope to many in need. 

Me and my beautiful daughter Katie - flashing her new 'rock' at her engagement party

 

 So, now on to the mamavation “healthy living’ up date for the week.  The most impacting progress I have to share this week has nothing to do with the scale…

Last week Pete Cohen was the guest speaker on mamavation tv.  He is very motivating and encouraging.  One thing he talked about really hit home for me, especially this week.  He talked about being goal driven to lose weight.  Although having a specific target can serve as a powerful motivator… the problem is that once the goal is achieved we are then likely to return to our previous way of life.  With the news of my daughter’s engagement – the obvious goal for me would be to lose weight by her wedding day. 

However, I agree with Pete.  About six years ago I went from couch potato to completing a marathon.  It took me 18 months to train and I finished a marathon.  The goal was to achieve the dream of running a marathon rather than living healthy.  So, after that goal was achieved I have continued to struggle back and forth with my weight. 

I believe that I will be at a healthy BMI by the time my daughter gets married… but that’s not my goal.  My goal is to change my life style to enjoy a healthy life not only for a wedding but foreveh!

As far as this week’s results.  I maintained again.  Certain times of the month are more difficult than others… if you know what I mean. 

I have been drinking lots of waters.  Almost every day drinking a minimum of 90 oz.  My hope is to see weight loss this week.  But, either way I am committed to finish what I have started.

Thanks for all your amazing support – it helps so much!

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2010 5:05 am

    Congrats on your daughters engagement! So exciting!!

  2. October 5, 2010 9:21 am

    I’ve heard of the Dream Center. It is incredible what they do there. Congrats on your daughter’s engagement. I don’t know who looks happier in the picture 😉

  3. randomrebecca permalink
    October 5, 2010 1:12 pm

    Congrats on the engagement! Your daughter looks so happy, and you do too!

    Your post was full of wisdom… we need to be goal driven, but this also needs to be a change, not just changing to reach a goal.

    I’m sure we’ll be hearing lots of wedding plans in the future?

  4. October 5, 2010 6:16 pm

    yay!! Congrats on your daughter’s engagement! 🙂 What exciting news! Great goals! You can do this!

  5. October 5, 2010 7:31 pm

    I said it on twitter and I’m gonna say it here. . . you and your daughter are GORGEOUS! Congrats on the engagement. 🙂

    I agree with Pete about the goal issues; if our goal isn’t “living a healthy life,” then what happens when we reach that “target” goal?

    Good for you making the commitment to better health — not just a specific weight!

    Now . . . because I totally love weddings . . . what her colors going to be? 😉

  6. Julie M permalink
    October 5, 2010 7:48 pm

    aww that is so wonderful. What a beautiful mom and daughter pic. I can’t wait to hear about the wedding plans. 🙂

    I know you are going to be a really busy momma in the next few months so be sure you are making time for fitness now so it is part of your routine as it get closer to the big day. The great thing too is that exercise is great for stress and what mom of the bride doesn’t feel some stress. 🙂

    What a wonderful and exciting time for your family. I am so glad you are choosing to be healthy for the occasion. Congrats!!

  7. lorrie permalink
    October 6, 2010 2:04 pm

    congrats to your daughter i hope that her and the fiance have a blessed marriage and a beautiful wedding.

    have a great week and hope you meet your goals

  8. October 6, 2010 2:13 pm

    Absolutely Beautiful! Both of you and you can tell how proud you are – you are simply beaming! I love the idea to focus on a “big-picture” goal like living healthy instead of a specific weight/size/achievement. A beautiful way to change our mindset!!! That’s what I’ve been working on…although I still use the scale to validate that I’m doing the right things. Hope you have a GREAT week and I hope you keep us updated on the wedding plans… I love weddings 🙂

  9. October 6, 2010 2:34 pm

    I think it’s awesome that you are looking towards the long term (I wanna be healthy forever!) versus the short term (I wanna look great in a dress.) Keep up the great attitude!

  10. October 6, 2010 3:48 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS! I know you’re soooo proud and so excited! How awesome. I’m so happy for you guys!

    You know, I really like what you said…

    “I believe that I will be at a healthy BMI by the time my daughter gets married… but that’s not my goal. My goal is to change my life style to enjoy a healthy life not only for a wedding but foreveh!”

    I totally respect that, and I wish that everyone would look at it like that. Everyone asks me what my goal is. I don’t have one “number” wise. My goal is to get up, get active, and be healthy!

    ❤ you babe!!!!

    Lisa

  11. October 6, 2010 5:19 pm

    Ahhhhhh!!!! Congrats to your family.

  12. gretablau permalink
    October 8, 2010 7:09 pm

    Your daughter is beautiful! Congratulations on her engagement!
    Pete is like that. He really makes you think, doesn’t he? It makes sense though that it can’t be goal oriented with nothing else as a goal afterward, maybe? I don’t know. Maybe I need to go watch that video again. Am I missing the point?

  13. October 9, 2010 5:57 pm

    Congratulations to your daughter and your family during these exciting times. You are a rock star to go from couch potato to marathoner in 18 months. You will achieve your BMI goal with enough consistency. I hope this week went well.

Leave a comment