Skip to content

Mamavation Monday The First Five

September 19, 2010

   

  

 Just a little over a week into re-starting my weight loss program – I lost 5 pounds!  

Thank you to all my new friends at Mamavation!  

Your continued support encourages me so much!   

It is so motivating to know that we are working toward a Healthy life together!  

Congratulations to this week’s Mamavation Sista of the Week – Pamela!

This Week’s Weight Loss 

 

 I have been drinking tons of water! (minimum of 90 oz a day) Rachel does an amazing job encouraging all the mamavation girls to stay hydrated!  Thanks Rachel! 

I am continuing to focus good food choices. Heather keeps us thinking about high fiber foods!    

For example:  My breakfast this morning:  

(2) slices of Fiber Plus whole wheat bread toast with peanut butter – 13 grams fiber 

(1) Griller veggie patty – 2 grams fiber   

(2) Fiber Plus tablets – 4 grams fiber

Total Calories 370  Total fiber 19 grams  (I thought this was pretty good)

 

The ‘Veggie Contessa’ Lisa is always reminding us to eat our fruits and veggies… my lunch usually has a bowl of fresh-cut fruit or veggies with it!  

I have been working out everyday.  Some days are lighter than others and every other day is strength training!   

Stephanie aka ‘Mama Guns’  has some seriously amazing Mama Guns!  She does a great job encouraging us to challenge and increase our strength training.   Thank you Stephanie for letting me join the 8 week ‘Mama Guns’ challenge – even though I am a week behind.  As per the rules for the challenge, here is my Mama Guns before picture.  I had my hubby snap this photo just before one of my work outs.    

Before 'Mama Guns' Challenge

Here’s an example of one of my strength Training workouts: 

3 Reps of 20 – (60) of the following: 

Squats 

Pilate Squats with 20# Kettle Bell 

Curls with 20# Kettle Bell 

Leg Lifts 

5# Free Weights (various) 

3 Reps of 10 Kettle Bell Swings  

Plank 

For Cardio I am jogging.  Elliptical.  AND trying new things as well.  Last week was my first Spin class, this week was my first Zumba class!  I like trying out new workouts.  I really want to try kickboxing.  I’ll admit it, I am a little intimidated.  I am ready to try though!  

Congrats to Leah, Rachel and Lisa!  Running with Jared (Subway) for the Commit to Fit campaign in NYC on Monday!!!

30 Pounds to go to a healthy BMI

10 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2010 4:34 am

    Thank you for the shout-out! 19 grams of fiber for breakfast is awesome! Great way to start the day.

    Congrats on losing 5 lbs!! That is wonderful!! And I love your Mama Guns picture – can’t wait to see your progress at the end of the challenge.

    So proud of you! Keep up the great work!

    • September 20, 2010 9:30 pm

      Thank you so much for introducing me to Mamavation… I found it through your blog!

      Thanks for the encouragement!

  2. September 20, 2010 3:27 pm

    This is so exciting! Keep the momentum going! I’m always cheering for moms on a mission of getting healthy – after my 3rd baby, my husband and I cleaned up our diet and did P90X together – a home workout program. It worked – nine months on, nine months off. You can do it!

  3. September 20, 2010 9:31 pm

    Thanks Arlene! Can’t wait to read your book when it comes out!

  4. September 21, 2010 2:30 am

    Great job! It always feels good to make that first big step. Keep up the good work.

  5. September 21, 2010 3:05 pm

    Those are some sweet MamaGuns you’ve got there girl! Great strength workout! You’re gonna rock this challenge!

  6. September 21, 2010 10:38 pm

    Sounds like a great start! and HOLY COW that’s a lot of fiber to start your day! Fantastic! So glad to have you as part of the mamaguns challenge too!!! Good luck this week with your training workouts and other goals!

  7. Carrie Symes permalink
    September 22, 2010 10:07 am

    Congrats on the loss!! Keep on rocking it!!

  8. September 22, 2010 7:17 pm

    That is so awesome! You have a 5 lb. badge. Whoot. Keep it up girl and those guns are awesome. Can’t wait to see what they look like in 8 weeks. Good luck this week.

  9. September 22, 2010 7:23 pm

    Wow! Congrats on unlocking the 5lb badge! I look forward to following your progress – and don’t hesitate to ask me any questions you have about exercise, fitness and health – I’m here to help!

Leave a Reply

