Skip to content

From Self Motivation to Mamavation

September 13, 2010

One of my New Year’s resolutions was to lose 40 pounds.  I started off strong and lost 11 pounds.  Then, I got distracted with some unexpected drama in my life – Lost my focus and gained back 6 pounds.  I am committed to picking up where I left off and finishing this year stronger than when I started. 

According to the BMI calculators I had to lose 40 pounds to bring my BMI within healthy range.  I lost 11, gained back 6 – so my goal is to lose a minimum of 35 pounds.  I say minimum because I want to be healthy, not just on the high-end of ‘healthy range’.

I am sure my focus will get more defined over the weeks, but here are five areas that I hope will help me reach my goal.

  • Hydration – The goal here is to drink a minimum of 90 oz of water every day.  I have been doing this for a few days and I am noticing a difference already.  I feel better.  I’m drinking so much water that I am never thirsty for other beverages. 
  • Regulation – Eat lots of fiber rich foods.  Regulating my system is a good thing.  Additionally, a doctor once told me that adding fiber to your diet helps to lower your bad cholesterol. 
  • Activation – Get up and move.  Get the metabolism going.  Cardio and strength training. This week I did a spin class for the first time – kicked my butt!  Free weights, kettle bell work outs, elliptical, treadmill ect.
  • Meditation – Change the way I think!  Break old patterns and mindsets that have contributed to my weight gain. I learned a long time ago that I need God.  I am sure that God will help me on this weight loss adventure.
  • Mamavation – I believe in reaching your dreams in life.  I also believe that we never achieve our dreams all on our own.  Right now, losing this weight is my dream.  I am excited about an online group I found on Heather’s Blog called Mamavation!  A group of moms dedicated to encouraging each other to live healthy lives. Where self motivation has failed me before – I am hoping that Mamavation will help me to succeed.  After only a few days I have already lost 1 pound!  This is my first Mamavation  Monday Blog Post.  Every Monday I will post my ‘Healthy Living’ updates.  

Enjoy a Healthy Life!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Maria Sandoval permalink
    September 13, 2010 8:27 am

    I will be looking forward to your Mamavation Monday Blog Posts. You encourage me so much and I’m sure I speak for many other women/moms.

    Gracias 🙂

    • September 13, 2010 8:44 am

      Maria – Thank you so much for your sweet encouragement! You are such a blessing!

  2. September 13, 2010 10:54 am

    What a beautifully written posting that I DESPERATELY needed to read today! Thank you for sharing. I have to agree with the hydration part – I’m amazed what a difference increased water makes!!! I’m so looking forward to reading more of your posts!

  3. September 15, 2010 12:50 am

    Go go go! I’m at your back! Read here how I lost weight (no magic and all)

    http://journeyofawoman.wordpress.com/2010/08/06/from-120-pounds-to-100-find-out-how-i-did-it/

    I’m glad to have found your blog. I like it. I’m sure gonna go back to your blog often. (I actually added it to my favorites)

    See you again. =)

    • September 15, 2010 8:53 pm

      Viviene~ Thanks so much for stopping by and taking the time to comment. I appreciate the encouragement.
      Blessings

Leave a Reply

