Skip to content

Book Review ~ Out Live Your Life

September 10, 2010

 

Out Live Your Life

You Were Made to Make a Difference

By Max Lucado

 The message of this book is clear. 

It isn’t a new message and it’s actually quite simple. 

However, it is monumental at the same time.

Step out of your own world long enough to see the need in someone else’s.

 

Poetically written in a manner only Max Lucado can write – “Out Live Your Life” challenges the reader to accept the call to make a difference in someone else’s life.  Each chapter is a lesson founded in the truth of Biblical scripture designed to challenge us to rise and meet the needs within the world around us.  The power of simple hospitality, never giving up on someone or just simply seeing someone through the eyes of Jesus – they have always been and always will be life changing, even world-changing concepts.  I couldn’t agree more with the message of this book. 

“Cut concern for the poor out of the Bible, and you cut the heart out of it.  God makes the poor his priority.  When the hungry pray, he listens.  When orphans cry, he sees.”  (quote from ‘Stand Up for the Have-Nots’ chapter)

Making a difference is a call of God upon every believer’s life.  Yet, we are encouraged to remember who it is that makes it all possible. 

“Take time to remember.  “Look at what you were when God called you” (1 Cor. 1:26 NCV)  Remember who held you in the beginning.  Remember who holds you today.”   (quote from ‘Remember Who Holds You’ chapter)

This book also provides a very useful  group discussion and action guide for each chapter. 

Disclosure of Material Connection: Thomas Nelson Publishers sent me a free copy of this book as part of their bloggers book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2010 1:46 pm

    I thought I left a comment, but I guess it didn’t “take”!

    I love Max Lucado. I’ve been using the same bible since I was a senior in High School, and it’s a Max Lucado study bible. What’s cool about it is, he explains things (as only he can) and tells stories down the margins.

    Thanks for posting the review! I’ll have to check it out, and I’m sure my mom will love it too! 🙂

    Mwah!

Leave a Reply

