Skip to content

This Mountain shall be Moved. Or at Least Painted.

September 6, 2010

We bought our house almost 5 years ago. 

The property is perfect for our business and for hospitality… except ‘The Mountain’. 

This was almost a deal breaker for me.

 

This is The Mountain of brick.  Nicknamed ‘The Mountain’

It is two-sided and is literally 67 1/2 square feet.

At first, we thought that we would just take it out.

After the shock of the quotes we got to remove it… We decided to just live with it. 

Until, this weekend.  I painted it. 

It took 4 days and several trips to Home Depot – but it was so worth it!

  

Yes.  It is still a mountain. 

But it is a much nicer looking one… I think.

Now, that I don’t have a mound of red brick in the middle of my house –

I painted the walls too.  

The results look much better in person.  I took these pictures with my Blackberry.

So, I guess the moral of this story is…

If the mountain in your life won’t be moved – Paint it!

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2010 10:15 pm

    Yeah! : )
    It looks like a totally different, and very pretty, fireplace…not a mountain any more. Job well done!

    • September 6, 2010 10:21 pm

      Awww…. Thanks. It looks so much better in person. The walls are actually a really nice warm color. My Blackberry is not the best camera. 🙂
      Love you mom –

      • September 7, 2010 6:15 am

        I love you too Danise! If it looks this good with your Blackberry…I know it is just beautiful in person. Truly an answer to ‘moving’ that mountain. : )

  2. September 7, 2010 12:01 pm

    Wow! What a great improvement!! I’m always impressed with the effect a bit of paint can have on a space. Looks fantastic!

    • September 7, 2010 12:13 pm

      Thanks! It was a ton of work – but soooo worth it. Just a little can of paint, brushes and some good old fashion labor. Now I am enjoying the fruits of my labor. 🙂

Leave a Reply

