Skip to content

Making God’s Promises Personal

August 26, 2010

The words of Isaiah 61 are promises for ‘The year of God’s favor’. 

2 Corinthians 6:2 says that Today is the day of God’s favor, Now is the time of God’s favor…

These beautiful promises of God spoken through the prophet Isaiah are for us Today. 

As I thought about the favor of God I was encouraged to make these promises even more personal to me.  I am truly changed in the presence of an amazing God who loves me so deeply.

Isaiah 61  

Vs. 1   The Spirit of the Sovereign LORD is on me,
because the LORD has anointed me to preach good news to the poor.
He has sent me to bind up the brokenhearted,
to proclaim freedom for the captives
and release from darkness for the prisoners

  • I have Good News.  Who’s report will I choose to believe?
  • God heals my broken heart.  His unconditional love for me heals even my deepest wound.
  • I have spiritual Freedom from the chains that bind me. I am Free from past mentalities. I am Free from my past.  I am Free to fulfill my purpose in life and pursue my dreams.  I am free to serve God and others for his kingdom. 
  • God releases me from darkness. Sin no longer has power over me.  Temptation may come, but with God’s power I can win the battle.

Vs. 3   and provide for those who grieve in Zion—
to bestow on them a crown of beauty instead of ashes,
the oil of gladness instead of mourning,
and a garment of praise instead of a spirit of despair.
They will be called oaks of righteousness,
 a planting of the LORD for the display of his splendor.

  • God provides for me when I am sad.  God knows me.  God sees me.  God understands me.  He touches my pain in a way no one else ever could.  God eases the sadness and gently shows me the way. 
  • God creates beauty from my ashes.  When things seem hopeless, God brings hope. When things seem to be completely destroyed, God creates a brand new thing.  God makes a way when there isn’t one. 
  • God turns my mourning into gladness.  When I feel loss, God comforts me and lightens the burden of my heart.  God fills every void and replaces emptiness with overflowing gladness.
  • God gives me Praise in the midst of despair.  I am never too low for God to reach me.  He pulls me up from the pit of despair.  He gives me eyes to see, hears to hear and a heart of praise. 
  • I am a display of his splendor.  God’s spirit lives within me.  More of Him… less of me.  So that others might see Him in me.      

Vs. 7   Instead of their shame, my people will receive a double portion,  and instead of disgrace they will rejoice in their inheritance;  and so they will inherit a double portion in their land, and everlasting joy will be theirs.

  • God removes my shame and disgrace.  God does for me – all that I can not do on my own.  All my efforts could never remove the stain of my shame and disgrace.  I know how I have fallen short.  I am very aware of my sinful nature.  God removes shame and disgrace from my identity.  God’s forgiveness provides a clean slate and I am a new creation through Him.
  • God gives me a double portion inheritance.  I have a new identity.  I am God’s daughter.  I have an inheritance from God that I have done nothing to earn or receive.  I have a double portion inheritance just because I am God’s daughter. 
  • I have everlasting  joy.  My joy is eternal, not temporal.  I have the gift of Joy that surpasses temporary happiness.      

Vs. 10   I delight greatly in the LORD; my soul rejoices in my God.
For he has clothed me with garments of salvation
and arrayed me in a robe of righteousness

  • I delight greatly in the Lord.  I love God, because He first loved me.  I can delight in him, because He has made my heart glad.
  • I have the garments of salvation.  Jesus Christ paid the price on the cross that I could not pay for myself.  I am saved by the grace and mercy of God through the blood of Jesus.  Because He died and rose again… I can embrace every one of these promises in my life.
  • I have a robe of righteousness. I didn’t make this robe of righteousness. God made it for me.  I just get the privilege of wearing it.

 

Linked to We Are THAT Family

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

