Skip to content

Begin with a Day Called Today

August 4, 2010
Hebrews 4:7 NLT  So God set another time for entering his rest, and that time is today. God announced this through David much later in the words already quoted:     “Today when you hear his voice, don’t harden your hearts.”
 
Hebrews 4:7  NIV   Therefore God again set a certain day, calling it Today, when a long time later he spoke through David, as was said before:    “Today, if you hear his voice, do not harden your hearts
 
  • God is the same yesterday, Today and forever.  He has said it before and He says it again to us Today… God has given us a certain day and He called it Today.  Every morning that you and I wake up… God is reminding us to look upon every Today as a certain day set apart to enter into the Rest of God.  Peace with God.  Salvation in God.  Every new Today is an opportunity to have a perspective through the eyes of God’s love for us, God’s salvation, God’s rest and peace.
  • Then comes the challenge.  I have this scripture shown with two different translations.  The NLT version says, “when” you hear his voice and the NIV version says, “if” you hear his voice.  The only difference between the two is one comes from a positive perspective that we will  listen to God’s voice:  “when”  you hear his voice.  The other considers the possibility that we might not be listening:  “if” you hear his voice.   There is no question, God is speaking to us everyday ~ a day called Today… the question is are we listening to hear what He is saying?  When and if we do hear God then the verse challenges us “don’t harden your heart.”  Everyday we have a clean start with God.  How different could our lives be if we faced everyday called Today entering into the rest and love of God and following His voice with a willing heart?  Or facing each Today in our own strength?   
 2 Corinthians 6:2 NIV For he says, “In the time of my favor I heard you, and in the day of salvation I helped you.  “I tell you, now is the time of God’s favor, now is the day of salvation.
 
2 Corinthians 6:2 NLT For God says, “At just the right time, I heard you.  On the day of salvation, I helped you.”   Indeed, the “right time” is now. Today is the day of salvation 
  • Today is “just the right time”.  
  • Today is “the day of salvation”. 
  •  Today is “the time for God’s favor”.  
  •  Today is “the day of God’s help”. 
  • Today is “the day God hears you”. 
  • Even though I received the gift of God’s salvation many years ago, I want to wake up in every new day called Today with a perspective of  God’s salvation and favor.  Jesus is real and I need Him so much!

Hebrews 6:11-12 NIV   We want each of you to show this same diligence to the very end, in order to make your hope sure.  We do not want you to become lazy, but to imitate those who through faith and patience inherit what has been promised.

Deuteronomy 4:9 NASB  “Only give heed to yourself and keep your soul diligently, so that you do not forget the things which your eyes have seen and they do not depart from your heart all the days of your life; but make them known to your sons and your grandsons.

  • I want to finish this race that I’ve started with God.  I want to finish even stronger than when I began.  With each new Today that God gives me I desire to “show this same diligence to the very end”.   Diligence.  That is not something that my sin nature does very well.  The spirit within me is very willing, Oh but the flesh is weak.  The sin nature within me wants to quit sometimes or just slow down and get comfortable.  I am so thankful that I serve a God who is diligent.  He is faithful and diligent to finish the good work that He started in me.  So, I will “keep watch over my soul diligently”  and I will remember all the wonderful things that God has done in my life and I will not keep the testimony that God is building in my life a secret but I will share it with all who want to know. 

TODAY is the day of God's Love

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2010 7:22 am

    “God is the same yesterday, Today and forever. He has said it before and He says it again to us Today… God has given us a certain day and He called it Today. ” I am overjoyed by the truth in those words.

    • August 5, 2010 8:14 am

      Cammie~
      Me too! Thanks for stopping by… Live like you are loved Today, because you are! Make it count!
      Blessings~
      Danise

Leave a Reply

