Skip to content

Can God Help Me When I am Overwhelmed?

June 26, 2010

The answer to that question is YES!  Of course God can help me.  God can always help… that is, IF I will let Him.  Being overwhelmed snatches my joy faster than most anything else.  Recently I have come out of a little season of feeling quite overwhelmed, here’s some Bible study notes that helped me through. I am back on the road to Enjoying Life again!

What Overwhelms Me?

  • Fear and Burden
  • Anxiety and Stress
  • Doubt and Insecurity

Nothing good ever comes from being overwhelmed.  However, it can produce a lot of negativity.

Negative Things that Happen When I am Overwhelmed: 

Lack of Discipline (“I don’t care attitude”)

  • Eating Habits
  • Tongue
  • Anger / Rage

When I am bombarded with trials and the reality of life’s circumstances I am tempted to just throw my hands up in the air and give up.  A quitters attitude just leads to giving up on self-discipline in general.  A bad attitude combined  with lack of discipline makes me a very unpleasant person to be around. That’s putting it lightly!  I don’t even like to be around myself when I am like that.

  • Lack of Vision

Have you ever been so overwhelmed that you couldn’t see the forest through the trees?  Without vision people perish… God’s word is SO true! 

  • Withdraw

In general, I am a social person.  I LOVE people!  However, about a month ago I was so completely overwhelmed that I honestly felt like I was on the verge of tears any minute.  I found myself withdrawing.  Not intentionally.  Just simply because I didn’t know what to say, I felt like I could just cry right in the middle of saying “Hi.” and then I wouldn’t know how to explain the tears.  Withdrawing seemed easier.  But, of course it isn’t.

How Can God Help?

Hebrews 12: 1 Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us THROW OFF everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. 

Throwing off the things that overwhelm me and replacing them with Trust, Faith, Peace and Patience in God help me to avoid the negative things that happen when I am overwhelmed.

Trusting in God and His promises replaces Fear and Burden

God’s Peace replaces Anxiety and Stress

Faith replaces Doubt and Insecurity 

Trust:  Psalm 112:7 He will have no fear of bad news; his heart is steadfast, trusting in the LORD.

Peace:  Psalm 94:19 In the multitude of my anxieties within me, Your comforts delight my soul.

Faith:  Hebrews 11:1 Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.

Can God help me when I am overwhelmed?  YES!  But, I have to do my part… Trust ~ Peace ~ Faith

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tilly permalink
    September 5, 2010 7:38 pm

    How do I explain how useful this site has been to me this morning. Words can not just explain. I thank God for your lifes. God continue to bless you beyond measure.

    • September 6, 2010 3:15 pm

      I am so glad that you have been blessed by the blog and most importantly… God’s Word.
      Many blessings to you too!

Leave a Reply

