Skip to content

God’s Protection

April 15, 2010

Here are this week’s Bible Study Notes

Ephesians 6:10 -11

Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power.  

Put on the full armor of God so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes.

God wants us to be protected against our spiritual enemy.  He has given us the protection we need to stand firm.  This verse tells us the two things we must do to walk with God’s protection. 

(1) “Be strong in the Lord.” Our strength comes from God not from ourselves. 

(2) “Put on the full armor of God.”   I have found that it is helpful to focus on the gifts of God that each piece of amor represents rather than actual piece of armor.  In the following verse I highlighted in bold each of the gifts of God that we can “put on” everyday as our spiritual protection.

 Ephesians 6: 14 -18  Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the saints.

  • Truth:  We hear the Truth
  • Faith:  By Faith we believe and know the truth  
  • Salvation:  Through this faith we receive Salvation
  • Righteousness:  God’s salvation gives us the Righteousness of Christ
  • Readiness with Peace:  Through Christ’s righteousness we have Readiness that comes with Peace
  • Word of God: We’ve received truth, faith, salvation, righteousness, and the readiness that comes with Peace; we are now   prepared to use our weapon against the evil one; The Word of God
  • Prayer:  Committed to Prayer!  Praying on all occasion, according to the Word of God
  •  

    There are seven in all.  I have listed each of them in a different order that helps me to remember the spiritual armor of God.  The first two are Truth and Faith.  We hear the truth and when we know and believe the truth with faith we are free.  Free from the lies that the enemy would like us to believe.  Free to believe the truth and receive salvation and God’s righteousness.  We have a new identity with Christ.  The enemy would like to keep us from believing the plan and identity God has for us.  Putting on the armor ~ Truth, Faith, Salvation and Righteousness helps us to live our life protected from the lies of the enemy. 

    God is not the author of confusion.  He gives us Peace that makes us Ready for the unexpected circumstances and divine appointments in life.  Our spiritual enemy would like us to live life in confusion.  God wants us to live a purpose filled life of peace.

    The Word of God and Prayer.   God’s word is His promise.  The Bible says that every promise God has ever made are all yes to us, through Jesus Christ and we speak the Amen.  It really isn’t enough to read the Bible, we have to believe it, apply it, speak it and share it.  Then it becomes spiritual protection for us.  Prayer is more than just begging God for the things we want or need.  It is consulting Him and receiving direction from him for our life.  It is also speaking and agreeing with God’s Word over our life… we speak the Amen. 

     Questions to ask ourselves that help us take up spiritual protection   

    • Truth:  Am I listening to truth in my life, or am I listening to lies?
    • Faith:  When I hear the truth, do I really believe the truth?
    • Salvation:   Do I have the Joy of God’s Salvation?   Is the passion of my first love for Christ alive in my life?
    • Righteousness:  Am I seeing myself the way God sees me?  Through the righteousness of Christ, I have right standing with God.  Am I embracing my new identity in Christ?
    • Readiness / Peace: Do I have God’s peace in my life?  Does His peace give me readiness and confidence in the midst of the battles in life or am I stressed out and afraid?
    • Word of God: Do I read, believe, apply and share the Word of God in my life.   Am I using the truth of God’s word as my weapon against the enemy when he comes against me?
    • Prayer: Am I spending time in prayer?

    May the Blessings of God’s spiritual armor bless and protect you and your family ~

    3 Comments leave one →
    1. Lee permalink
      May 17, 2010 1:23 pm

      Thanks for sharing this. It was a blessing to read.

    2. Tilly permalink
      September 5, 2010 6:29 pm

      Thanks so much for this. May God bless you and give you more insight in his word so you can share with us. God through you has elaborate more on this and I understand it more. I was also down but by reading the break down of the armour of God, I have come to conclusion not to be afraid but to have the peace of God in me.
      Please come back with more.

      Love, sis in Christ

      • September 6, 2010 3:16 pm

        Thank you so much for your encouraging words…
        God Bless you too… and Enjoy Life!
        Love, Danise

    Leave a Reply

