Skip to content

Weight Loss Update

January 29, 2010

Low Cal Zucchini and Mozzarella Strata

  

Overall Weight Loss Goal – Lose 2 lbs. per week for 20 weeks = 40 lbs 

Weight Loss for Week 4 – another 2 lbs 

Total Weight lost to date – 10 pounds!! 🙂 

Thoughts about the week: 

First, I just want to say… YAY!  Being 10 pounds lighter feels so good.  

This week I continued to do what has worked so far.  Weighing myself everyday for accountability, I don’t eat passed around 4:30 – 5 pm (when I do, it usually very small, protein) and definitely eating smaller portions.  Each meal usually has a protein and carb combo. 

One thing I am noticing is that food is actually becoming less important to me.  Normally, diets do the opposite, but this time I only think about food when I am preparing it and eating it.  I did have one moment of emotional eating, but I was able to recognize what I was doing and stop.  I spent some time with God instead.  I feel like He is helping me.  All the things I have learned over the years during my earlier failed attempts  at weight loss I am applying this time.   

My work outs have been all cardio and abs.  In addition to the most inspiring book I know, the Bible – this week I also read a little in Joyce Meyer’s book Eat and Stay ThinVery encouraging.  And, I tried one of the recipes in Christine’s book. It was yummy!  Here’s the recipe: 

 

  

Zucchini and Mozzarella Strata Recipe 

Christine Avanti’s book: Skinny Chicks Don’t Eat Salads  

  

  

2 cups liquid egg whites 

1 cup fat- free milk 

2 medium zucchini, shredded 

1/4 cup chopped onion 

1/2 cup shredded fat-free mozzarella cheese 

1 teaspoon salt 

8 slices whole wheat bread 

1  1/2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil 

In a large bow, whisk together the egg whites and milk.  Stir in the zucchini, onion, cheese, parsley and salt. 

Break apart the bread into chunks and add to the egg mixture.  Let soak at least 1 hour (can also soak overnight) 

Pre-heat the oven to 350, brush a casserole dish with the oil.  

Pour the strata mixture into the prepared dish and bake for 1 hour, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  

** I added about 1/2 teaspoon of minced garlic and 4 slices cooked/chopped turkey bacon** 

At the bottom of every recipe Christine gives some nutrition facts.  Here is the one for this recipe found in her book on pg. 250. 

Christine’s Nutrition Nuggets:  Zucchini has carotenoids, which are known to protect our cell membranes from toxins that may be released during weight loss. 

On A Random Note: 

This week a raccoon got into our garage in the middle of the night. 

My hubby is so cute.  He said, “I took a picture for your blog.” 

  

Random Racoon in garage

 This post linked to Under Grace Over Coffee 

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2010 11:27 am

    10 pounds is wonderful!!!!! Congrats!! The raccoon is super cute! : )

  2. January 29, 2010 12:02 pm

    Congratulations on your weight loss! The recipe sounds interesting. I think I would probably like it. It would probably also be good with some chicken added to it as well.

    Hope you have a wonderful weekend!
    Karen

  3. January 29, 2010 3:53 pm

    I know what it’s like losing weight. You may not want to drop by my blog this week though. I’m not really dieting right now, just watching what I eat and actually getting on to the treadmill my hubby bought us for our anniversary.

    I love the raccoon. My daughter just did a report on raccoons and didn’t believe that we had them in our back yard growing up until she talked to her Grandmother.

Leave a Reply

