Skip to content

Weight Loss Update

January 22, 2010

 

 

 

Overall Goal: Lose 2 lbs. per week for 20 weeks= 40 lbs.

Week 3 Weight Loss:  2 lbs.

Total Weight Loss to date: 8 lbs

 

 

 

 

Thoughts about the week: 

Who cancels their gym membership a couple weeks into a weight loss committment?  Um… Yeah, that would be ME!  

Last Saturday, I show up to my gym and there is a big sign on the door ~ “This Location Closed – Relocated”… to the other side of town!  Ok, so, I am committed to working out, but I am also a girl on a schedule.  This would add an extra 40 minutes of driving time to every work out.  All that to say, I called and cancelled my gym membership.  Funny thing is, I was there a couple times last week and never saw any notices about the change. 

Oh, well.  It’s all good.  I have a treadmill at home and tons of  “home work out ideas” to use.  I will probably get a new membership for another gym that is close by, but for now I’m not worried about it.

Somethings have stayed the same this week; I am still weighing myself everyday for accountability, drinking lots of water, watching portions (combo of carbs and protein), watching the extra fats and eating earlier in the day (usually not after around 4:30 or 5).  I also, treated myself to 1 piece of banana cream pie this week (NOT the fake, low-fat, low cal stuff) the real thing.  It was delicious!  It was satisfying and I still lost 2 pounds this week. 

I started reading Christine Avanti’s book, Skinny chicks Don’t Eat SaladsIt is very easy to read and filled with lots of nutritional information.  Reading Christine’s book has me thinking a lot more about eating to “stabilize blood sugar”.  I am learning more about things like Glycemic Index (GI) found in the carbs we eat, eating a “PC combo” (protein and carbs combo) and mealtime schedules.  I have not finished reading the book yet, and have not followed the meal plan either.  It is a very educational book.  I noticed there are some yummy recipes in the back of the book, I can’t wait to try some of them out. 

So, 3 weeks and 8 pounds down!  17 weeks and 32 pounds to go! 

 

This post is linked to Under Grace, Over Coffee

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2010 5:12 pm

    Found you here from Andrea’s!

    Congratulations on your weight loss so far!

    Oh I just lovelove banana caramel cream pie… dying now!

    Have a lovely caffeinated weekend!

  2. coffeemom permalink
    January 22, 2010 6:09 pm

    Good for you! I need to get a bit more disciplined in this whole area. I’m good with the exercise part, but not so much with the eating. Of course, it was just my birthday, and everyone I knew spoiled me with cake!

Leave a Reply

