Skip to content

Tuesday’s Tips – Organize

January 12, 2010

    

I have always been an ORGANIZER…   

photo credit homegoods.com

    

As long as I can remember I have always enjoyed ORGANIZING things.  Nothing says FRESH START like a little re-organization.   

There was a time in our family’s life that my ENJOYMENT became a NECESSITY.     

In the EARLY YEARS, we just started our business which meant we had a HOME OFFICE, we had 2 children (I was HOMESCHOOLING) and we lived in a very SMALL mobile home at the time.  Space was precious and LIMITED!     

There were some organizational tips I learned during that time that have stayed with me and I continue to use even today:   

  1. Kitchen – Keep it SIMPLE.  During our “mobile home days” counter space was minimal.  Keeping small kitchen appliances off the counter and put away in a cabinet makes the kitchen feel bigger and cleaner.  It also provides some of that much-needed counter space for things like preparing food and cooking.   Today, my kitchen is twice the size it was then and I still put all my small appliances away.  It works!
  2. Share the Wealth.  Sort through all the household “STUFF” regularly.  In the mobile home we didn’t have a garage, only a very small outside shed.  I had no hall closet or linen closet.  So, cycling through all the family stuff was not really optional.  Going room by room make 3 piles:  Keep ~  Trash  ~  Give-Away.   I had a rule back then.  If I didn’t use it, need it or have sentimental attachment to it, then off it went into the Trash or Give-Away pile.  Today, we live on a ranch with over 2 acres of  land and I still live by that rule.  I have trashed or given away so many things, but I can honestly say that I have never been without.  Whether it goes in the Trash or Give-Away pile is up to your own conscience.   Most charitable organizations will give you a tax receipt for your donation.  Another great reason to Share the Wealth. 
  3. Bins and Baskets.  I am a huge fan of bins and baskets.  I use rectangle baskets in my pantry to organize food.  Bins are great for closets and bathrooms.  I remember how handy they were when my kids were little.  All the tiny, little toys that get collected ~ bins were great for that.  Recently, my son was home from college and we were sorting through all his old stuff.  A few bins later, and all his memorabilia items were neatly stacked and stored in his closet. 

Some of my favorite places to find fun Bins and Baskets at a great price:   

  1. TJ Maxx
  2. Big Lots
  3. Home Goods
  4. Dollar Tree
  5. Target

    

Just a Reminder Ladies ~  Join us for Bible Study tonight at the Dream Center 7 pm ~ War Room 8th floor ~ Los Angeles, CA

 

This Post is Linked to Works for Me Wednesday

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 12, 2010 2:48 pm

    I can use help organizing and like your tip of sorting things into keep, trash and donate.
    One thing I do is that when I buy some new clothes I give away some clothes. There is a charity called Hope that contacts me about every two months about when their donation truck is in our neighborhood.
    All I need to do is to put the bags of clothes and other things at the curb the night before. How easy is that?

Leave a Reply

