Skip to content

Good Bye 2009… Hello 2010!

December 30, 2009

The close of one year.  The beginning of a whole new decade! 

I believe in fresh starts.  No matter when or how often we need them.  That’s probably why every New Year feels like a brand new season to me.  I know that some people don’t believe in making New Year’s resolutions, but I do.  I believe in the hope and inspiration of resolutions.  I also think that we should have smaller goals and a plan for reaching the resolutions we make.  Even if I fall short of the bigger goal, I just like the idea of continuing to challenge myself to change and grow.

 

 

  • My first resolution is the most common of all… Lose weight.  But, of course I am not kidding, I am completely serious.  It is embarrassing how many times I have tried and failed at this one.  And yet it is my number one resolution for this new decade.   My goal is to lose 40 pounds.  The plan is to lose 2 pounds a week for 20 weeks… 40 pounds lighter by the end of May 2010.  Sounds good in theory…  a lot easier said than done.  The benefit of all my past failures is that with every failed attempt I have gained quite a bit of knowledge.  I know that it takes both good nutrition and excercise.  However, it truly is more about what I eat then anything else.  Which is the problem of course… because I really like food.   My hope is not to completely deprive myself but challenge myself to re-train my eating habits.  A few years back I trained myself to run a marathon… it took me 18 months,  but I did it.  This time I will be training my body in a different way.  I want to start this new decade with a healthier body.  I will give Weekly Weight Loss updates on my blog. 
  • My second resolution is to stay encouraged.  Joy is truly our strength.  Joy is also a fruit of the Holy Spirit.  More of Him and a lot less of my grumpy self is the plan.  I am, by nature an encourager.  I enjoy encouraging others.  Most encouragers, including me like to be encouraged!  No one encourages the heart and soul like God does.  I need to remind myself as often as possible that God is good!  God is with me!  God is for me!  And, if God is for me, who and what can be against me?  You see, it works, I am encouraged already!  Staying encouraged and joyful is good for every area of life… faith, health, relationships, business, well-being. 
  • My third resolution is to continue this blog.  It’s only been 2 months so far, but I am committed to continue what I have started.  It is interesting to me that what I hoped would be an encouragement to others, has become a source of great encouragement to me! 

How about you?  Do you have any hopes, plans, resolutions for this new decade?  Whatever they may be… I pray that your New Year and New Decade will be filled lots of JOY!   Enjoy Life in 2010!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2010 8:35 pm

    I posted my resolutions at giving up on perfect, which is how I found your blog. Your first paragraph took the words right out of my mouth. That is exactly how I feel about it! Enjoy this blogging journey, I remember the very beginning stages of my blog and I can’t believe I’ve kept it up for a year and a half now, and it is a lot of fun.

  2. January 12, 2010 7:55 pm

    Great goals! Two pounds a week is totally doable – you can do it!! I love hearing that your blog is encouraging to you – that’s exactly how I feel about mine. I’m surprised so often by the encouragement I get from my own blog!

Leave a Reply

