Skip to content

A little bit of food brings a lot of hope

November 16, 2009

groceriesOne of the greatest blessings in my life is volunteering at the Los Angeles Dream Center.  With over 200 ministries reaching out to help the inner city of LA, there is always a lot to do. 

For the past nine years, my family and I have been making a weekly 40 mile commute from Santa Clarita to Los Angeles  to be a part of this amazing ministry. 

Recently, as I was driving home from LA, I began to think about my home town, Santa Clarita.  It’s a nice suburban area .  However, with the tough economic times we are facing, families everywhere are having a hard time making ends meet.

The Dream Center food ministry alone, distributes over a million pounds of food every month!  So, I picked up a little bit of food from the Dream Center, filled the back of my car and brought it back to Santa Clarita with me. 

I wasn’t sure who I was going to give it to.  I just went out and prayed to have eyes to see who needed help.  One by one, I found them.   When I was at the bank, I met a single mom and her baby.  I introduced myself and offered her some food.  She was happy to have the extra help.  She explained how difficult it has been for her.  She is out of work and raising her daughter alone.

While driving through a neighborhood I saw a woman sitting on her porch with some papers.  I stopped.  Introduced myself.  Told her I had food and asked if she needed some.  She seemed relieved and explained to me that she had just been paying bills and wasn’t sure how she was going to make it on what was left. 

In less than a couple of hours almost all the food was gone.  I donated what was left over to our local food pantry. 

We don’t have to give out thousands of pounds of food to make a difference.  All we have to do is be willing to step out of our comfort zone.  Take the time to see someone else’s need and fill it.   I saw first hand, a little bit of food bring so much hope!  Make a difference today… one person at a time.

One Comment leave one →
  1. sandysays1 permalink
    November 16, 2009 12:22 pm

    Great point. A lot of people are reluctant to donate what they consider their “insignificant little donation.” It’s all those little slices that make a big pie. http://www.sandtsays1.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

